Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Howard Peelle ’65

Howard Peelle ’65 visited the Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST) this past spring on a Fulbright Senior Specialist grant. JAIST is a new independent national university in Ishikawa, Japan. During the six-week visit, Peelle interacted with computer science educators, assessed 80 courses in master’s and Ph.D. programs, and offered recommendations for advancing [...]

Peter Katzenstein ’67

Peter Katzenstein ’67 is president-elect of the American Political Science Association (APSA). Katzenstein is the Walter S. Carpenter Jr. Professor of International Studies at Cornell University. His work addresses issues of political economy, security, and culture in world politics. In 2005, Katzenstein was named a Cornell Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellow and, in 1993, received [...]

Richard Ortega ’73

Richard Ortega ’73 was inducted into the College of Fellows of the Association for Preservation Technology (APT) at the organization's annual conference in November. Ortega, architect and engineer, is senior associate and director of preservation technology at RMJM Hillier, in Philadelphia. At the induction, Ortega was recognized for leading symposia on Historic Timber Engineering and [...]

Charles Wilker ’77

Charles Wilker ’77 has been named a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).  The IEEE Board of Directors awards the international honor of Fellow to a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in electrical, electronic, and computing technologies. Wilker received this honor for his contributions to microwave measurements of cryogenic [...]

Jerry Tersoff ’77

Jerry Tersoff ’77 has been awarded the 2007 Medard W. Welch Award for seminal theoretical contributions to the understanding of surfaces, interfaces, thin films, and nanostructure of electronic materials by the American Vacuum Society (AVS). A research staff member at the IBM T.J. Watson Center in Yorktown Heights, N.Y., Tersoff has also received the AVS [...]

Lisa Ginsburg ’97

Lisa Ginsburg ’97 was recently honored with the prestigious Zella Bronfman Butler Award for extraordinary community service achievements by the United Jewish Appeal (UJA) Federation of New York. The award, including a $10,000 cash gift, honors UJA agency professionals who exemplify the highest standards of service. Ginsburg, who was chosen for her compassionate commitment to [...]

Michal Zadara ’99

Michal Zadara ’99 recently won the annual Passport Award for Theater in Warsaw for his directorial work to date, consisting of 12 professional productions in Poland and Germany since 2004, including his debut at the National Theater in Warsaw last year. The prestige of the Passport Award, given by the weekly news magazine Polityka, is [...]

Gina Hart ’01

Gina Hart ’01, a high school teacher for only six years, has been named the Philadelphia School District’s Teacher of the Year. Recently, she was also recognized for excellence by the Lindback Foundation. According to Hart’s nominators, the English teacher at Bodine High School for International Affairs brings “a lively spirit to the learning environment,” [...]