Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Michael Wertheimer ’47

Michael Wertheimer ’47 has been chosen to receive the American Psychology Association’s (APA) Award for Outstanding Contributions to Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology in Toronto this summer. In 2000, he also received APA’s Division 26 Lifetime Achievement Award for sustained, outstanding, and unusual contributions to the history of psychology. Professor emeritus at the University of Colorado-Boulder, [...]

Ann Lubin Buttenwieser ’57

Ann Lubin Buttenwieser ’57 was recently honored by the Metropolitan Waterfront Alliance with the Hero of the Harbor award for her work on the “Floating Pool Lady” and the New York City waterfront during the last 30 years. The Floating Pool Lady—a multi–award-winning swimming pool that floats in a barge—was the brainchild of Buttenwieser, an [...]

James Forrester ’59

James Forrester ’59 received the 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award from the American College of Cardiology in March. Each year, the award is presented to an individual who has amassed 30-plus years of outstanding achievements in the field of cardiovascular disease and has served as a role model through service, research, and teaching. Early in his [...]

Richard Goodkin ’75

Richard Goodkin ’75 has been awarded the Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award by the University of Wisconsin. He is also the recipient of a senior fellowship at the Institute for Research in the Humanities that will allow him to teach half time for the next five years while he conducts research for a new book project. [...]

Steven Shareshian ’85

Steven Shareshian ’85 won a 2008 Emmy award for best dramatic miniseries as a producer of the HBO series John Adams, based on the book by David McCullough. The series won 13 Emmy awards out of 23 nominations—the record for the most Emmy awards received by a miniseries. He also won the Producers Guild’s Television [...]

James Rowley ’85

James Rowley ’85 has won the Excellence in Education Award from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM). The award recognizes his work with the AASM as creator of the online practice examination, chair of the education committee and the AASM board review course, and as editor of the sleep fragments section of the American [...]

Rochelle Grayson ’91

Rochelle Grayson ’91 was recently named one of Business in Vancouver’s Top Forty Under 40 and received the inaugural Canadian Women in Communications Trailblazer: Excellence in Leadership Award. For both awards, Grayson was recognized as a groundbreaking visionary who has distinguished herself as a powerful leader and significantly contributed to interactive media through her achievements. [...]

Lara Estroff ’97

Lara Estroff ’97 has received an Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation for her project “Synthesis, Characterization, and Application of Gel-Grown, Polymer-Reinforced Single Crystals.” The project focuses on recent observations, both in nature and in the laboratory, of macroscopic, single crystals with incorporated polymer fibers and other macromolecules. The project aims to [...]