Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

William Lipshutz ’63

William Lipshutz ’63 has been named a Fellow of the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) in recognition of his outstanding professional achievements and contributions to the clinical and academic practice of gastroenterology. In 1978, Lipshutz founded Pennsylvania Hospital Gastrointestinal (PHGI) Associates, a group of leading physicians that provide expert gastrointestinal care in the Greater Philadelphia Area. [...]

Lauren Belfer ’75

Lauren Belfer ’75 has been recognized for a second time for her literary work with the inclusion of her latest novel, A Fierce Radiance, on The Washington Post Best Fiction List for 2010. A Fierce Radiance was also named an NPR Mystery of the Year. The novel is at once a thriller set in the [...]

Nick Tobier ’89

Nick Tobier ’89 recently received the Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty. It recognizes a faculty member’s social engagement and dedication to community service in his or her scholarship. A recently tenured professor at the University of Michigan, Tobier’s teaching integrates creativity and social conscience through direct engagement [...]

Sarah Harlow Shirk ’87

Sarah Harlow Shirk ’87 recently received the 2011 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring for her leadership of the Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Program at the University of Illinois-Chicago. The award recognizes the importance of mentoring in the academic and personal development of young women underrepresented in math, science, [...]

Bruce Lamb ’85

Bruce Lamb ’85 has received two awards for his efforts in fighting Alzheimer’s disease—the Alzheimer’s Association’s National Civic Award for bringing awareness to the disease and to the importance of research funding with the Alzheimer’s Breakthrough Ride, a cross-country bike ride which he conceived, and the Jennifer B. Langston Community Service Award from the Cleveland [...]

Charlotte Witt ’75

Charlotte Witt ’75 recently received the Lindberg Award, which recognizes superior faculty achievement and scholarship at the University of New Hampshire (UNH). The award includes a $5,000 stipend. As a professor of philosophy and humanities in the College of Liberal Arts, Witt teaches courses that students describe as “stimulating” and mentors young women. “She has [...]

Charlotte Phillips ’63

Charlotte Phillips ’63 has received the Sidel-Levy Award for Peace, which honors a member of the American Public Health Association for outstanding contributions to preventing war and promoting international peace. In 1984, Phillips co-founded Brooklyn For Peace, an organization committed to promoting peace and eliminating the social injustices brought about by war and militarization. The [...]

Judith Grace Stetson ’59

Judith Grace Stetson ’59 has been named recipient of the 2011 Falmouth Heritage Award, which honors pioneering individuals in the cultural safeguarding and heritage preservation of Falmouth, Cape Cod, in Massachussetts. The Heritage Award recognizes Stetson’s distinguished leadership in heritage preservation and her community activism, which has inspired others to value and participate in the [...]