Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Ken Hechler ’35

Ken Hechler ’35 is the subject of the documentary film Ken Hechler: In Pursuit of Justice, which premiered at Marshall University in April (and was shown on West Virginia Public Television in September), where Hechler taught and was awarded an honorary doctorate in May. “It was a bit of a shock to discover they had [...]

Ernest Smith ’44

Ernest Smith ’44 recently received the 2008 Special Recognition Award from the U.S. National Committee for the International Union of Radio Science for his service to the organization and his contributions to the development of the Henry Booker Gold Medal and the Booker Fellow Award for Young Radio Scientists. Since graduating from Swarthmore, Smith’s specialty [...]

Beverly Bruhn Major ’57

was recognized in April by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Vermont Governor Jim Douglas for her service in improving the Connecticut River Watershed. Major received the President’s Volunteer Service Award, created by President Bush in 2002 to encourage and recognize volunteer service, and the 2008 [Vermont] Governor’s Award for Outstanding Community Service, which [...]

Janet Smith Warfield ’58

Janet Smith Warfield ’58 won the 2008 Next Generation Indie Book Award for the best new-age nonfiction and was a finalist in the self-help and spirituality categories for her 2007 book Shift: Change Your Words, Change Your World. Shift has been translated into Bulgarian and Russian. A self-described “mother, grandmother, poet, mediator, author, and practicing [...]

Joan Moffitt Larkin ’60

Joan Moffitt Larkin ’60 has received Publishing Triangle’s 2008 Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry for her book My Body: New and Selected Poems. The Los Angeles Times called Larkin’s work “poetry without pity, in which despair leads not to degradation but to a kind of grace.” She has also won the Lambda Award for [...]

Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot ’66

Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot ’66, a sociologist and the Emily Hargroves Fisher Professor of Education at Harvard, was recently elected to the American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States. The Society provides “opportunities for multidisciplinary, intellectual fellowship.” Lawrence-Lightfoot, a member of the Board of Managers from 1981 to 1988, was honored by Swarthmore [...]

Sherry Bellamy ’74

Sherry Bellamy ’74 was recently appointed to the board of National Medical Fellowships (NMF). NMF, a nonprofit organization, works to improve the health care experience of low-income and minority communities by providing financial support and opportunities to minority physicians and researchers. Bellamy, a vice president and deputy general for Verizon Business, has worked with [...]

David Kennedy ’80

designed the drug market elimination strategy for the High Point [N.C.] Police Department that earned them the 2007 Innovations in American Government Award from the Ash Institute for Democratic Governance and Innovation at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government last September. Kennedy, director of the Center for Crime Prevention and [...]

Melanie Reed Ingalls ’80

Melanie Reed Ingalls ’80, the vice president for education and outreach for The Trustees of Reservations, received four EXCEL awards from the Society of National Association Publications (SNAP) in July as the staff leader of The Trustees’ publications. The Trustees, the nation’s oldest statewide land trust and nonprofit conservation organization, located in Massachusetts, is dedicated [...]

Daniel Koltonski ’02

Daniel Koltonski ’02 was recently selected by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation to be a Charlotte W. Newcombe Doctoral Dissertation Fellow for 2008. The Newcombe Fellowship is “the nation’s largest and most prestigious award of its kind for Ph.D. students, addressing ethical and religious questions in the humanities and social sciences.” It awards $23,000 [...]