Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Esther Ridpath Delaplaine ’44

Esther Ridpath Delaplaine ’44 has been inducted into the Human Rights Hall of Fame in Montgomery County, Md., in recognition of her civil rights efforts in the county. According to Richard Ramsey, president of the Glen Echo Park Partnership for Arts and Culture, in 1960, Delaplaine and her neighbor Mary Lou Rogers Munts ’45, mobilized [...]

Russell Snyder ’54

Russell Snyder ’54 recently received the Child Neurology Society’s (CNS) Lifetime Achievement Award for “his contributions in medicine and humanism as well as his outstanding leadership and service to the CNS and a lifelong career devoted to child neurology as a clinical discipline.” Snyder is an emeritus professor of neurology at the University of New [...]

Philip Grier ’64

Philip Grier ’64 has received the Distinguished Teaching Award, the highest honor given to a faculty member by Dickinson College. The Thomas Bowman Professor of Philosophy and Religion since 1997, Grier says, “The good opinion of one’s own professional colleagues is perhaps the most meaningful commendation that one’s work can receive.” His specialties include Hegel [...]

Jane Fraser ’71

Jane Fraser ’71 has been named the inaugural recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Industrial Engineering Division of the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE). The award recognizes outstanding service to the industrial engineering discipline. “As a woman in engineering, I know what it is like to feel discouraged,” Fraser says, “and this [...]

John Bartle ’79

John Bartle ’79 has been elected a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration (NAPA), which provides advice to government agencies on issues of governance and public management. As a fellow, Bartle will address emerging issues and contribute to the intellectual and popular discourse on government. Bartle is director of the School of Public [...]

Maggie Gold Seelig ’95

Maggie Gold Seelig ’95 recently received the Esther Leah Ritz Next Generation JCC (Jewish Community Center) Leadership Award, recognizing her service to the JCCs of Greater Boston. Recipients of the award attend a training institute intended to prepare young leaders to assume JCC leadership roles. “The honor of being chosen as a community leader carries [...]

Hansi Wang ’09

Hansi Wang ’09 has received the National Public Radio (NPR) Kroc Fellowship, which includes a stipend of more than $40,000. Fellows complete an intensive, hands-on training program to learn about all aspects of public journalism today, from researching, interviewing, and broadcasting to digital news and multimedia production. Wang will have the opportunity to work alongside [...]

Herbert ’49 and Joy Sundgaard Kaiser ’51

Herbert ’49 and Joy Sundgaard Kaiser ’51 recently received the Award of the Order of the Companions of O.R. Tambo: Silver, the highest award given by the country of South Africa to foreign nationals. President Jacob Zuma recognized the couple “for their excellent contribution to creating opportunities for medical education for black South Africans.” The [...]

Helen Smits ’58

Helen Smits ’58 was inducted into the Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame last October. A retired physician, Smits has dedicated her life to public health and healthcare management. In recent years, she taught in a new public health master’s program at Eduardo Mondlane University in Mozambique and worked with the Clinton Foundation to develop an [...]

Bennett Lorber ’64

Bennett Lorber ’64 was recently named the 60th president of the College of Physicians of Philadelphia—the oldest medical organization in the United States. The Durant Chair in Medicine and also a professor of microbiology and immunology in the Temple University School of Medicine, he is recognized internationally as a leading authority on anaerobic infections and [...]