Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Daniel Beshers ’49

Daniel Beshers ‘49 was awarded the Zener Medal at the International Conference on Internal Friction and Mechanical Spectroscopy in Perugia, Italy, last summer. The award recognizes a lifetime of measuring and explaining evidence of atomic motion inside crystalline solids, particularly in ferromagnetic materials. A member of the Columbia University faculty since 1957, Beshers, professor emeritus [...]

Ben Sirman ’62

Ben Sirman ’62 was recognized on Jan. 25 by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association with the Herm Reitzes Award for service to sports. Sirman, who attended Swarthmore on a McCabe Scholarship spent his career as an educator, guidance counselor, coach, administrator, and athletics director. His work was marked by his influential tenures at Bridgeville [...]

Mark Risk ’78

Mark Risk ’78 was elected and installed as a fellow of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers last September. The College, established in 1995, recognizes lawyers for demonstrating through sustained performance, high professional qualifications and ethical standards as well as character, integrity, and leadership. Risk practices in New York City, principally representing individuals in [...]

Scott Cowger ’82

Scott Cowger ’82 was named to the sixth annual Mainebiz Next List for alternative energy efforts at his inn and conference center in Hallowell, Maine ( Each year, Mainebiz, a business news publication, selects a group of 10 innovative business leaders for inclusion on their Next List. Cowger, co-owner of the Maple Hill Farm Bed [...]

Amy McBride Barker ’92

Amy McBride Barker ’92 was honored with the Governor’s Award of Excellence in Humanities Education from the Missouri Humanities Council (MHC) in October. The Council celebrates those who have contributed to the appreciation of history, literature, and the culture of Missouri. Nominated by the community, Barker is the Advanced Placement English literature and composition teacher [...]

Pablo Reid Mitchell ’92

Pablo Reid Mitchell ’92 was recently named a Class of 2008 Emerging Scholar by Diverse: Issues in Higher Education. The magazine, dedicated to providing information about higher education in the context of educating a growing number of minority students, selects a group of 10 scholars under the age of 40 for their annual list. Mitchell’s [...]

Eugene Lang ’38

Eugene Lang ’38 has been named Citizen of the Year by the National Conference on Citizenship (NCoC) in honor of his lifelong commitment to civic participation. “Eugene Lang is a shining example of what an individual citizen can do to strengthen our country,” NCoC Chairman Michael Weiser said. “The son of immigrant parents who came [...]

Deborah Hacker Oakley ’58

Deborah Hacker Oakley ’58 was recognized by the University of Michigan (UM) with the establishment of the Deborah H. Oakley Professor of Nursing Chair for her work in women’s health research. Oakley, who retired as professor emerita in 2002, served as interim director of the Healthy Asian Americans Project and continues to lead research projects [...]

Kenneth Turan ’67

Kenneth Turan ’67 recently received the 2008 Alumni Award from the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. Turan is a film critic for the Los Angeles Times and National Public Radio’s Morning Edition and director of the Los Angeles Times Book Prizes. He has been staff writer for the Washington Post and TV Guide and [...]

William Ehrhart ’73

William Ehrhart ’73, a former Marine and award-winning poet and memoirist whose work has been strongly influenced by his 13-month tour of duty during the Vietnam War, recently received the Vietnam Veterans of America (VVA) Excellence in the Arts Award. VVA President John Rowan first came across Ehrhart’s work in the 1972 anthology Winning Hearts [...]