Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Wilma Lewis ’78

Wilma Lewis ’78 has been nominated by President Barack Obama and confirmed by the United States Senate to serve as a federal district court judge in the U.S. Virgin Islands. She is the first woman to serve as a federal judge in the Virgin Islands. This is the fourth presidential appointment for Lewis, who hails from [...]

Arlene Zarembka ’70

Arlene Zarembka ’70 is the recipient of the ACLU–Eastern Missouri Civil Liberties Champion Award for defending civil liberties and rights through her law practice. Her many awards include the 1998 Clarence Darrow Public Interest Advocate Award, 2008 ACLU–Eastern Missouri Extraordinary Volunteer Service Award, and 2009 Social Justice Hero Award. Zarembka was one of the leaders [...]

Roy Weintraub ’64

Roy Weintraub ’64
has been named a Distinguished Fellow of the History of Economics Society (HES). Weintraub, a Duke University faculty member since 1970, was nominated for “promoting an awareness of … the larger social and intellectual context in which economics developed.” The award citation notes that his primary research and influential historiographic approach constitute an [...]

Terese Loeb Kreuzer ’64

Terese Loeb Kreuzer’s [’64], reporting on the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act and its passage by Congress in December 2010 after eight years of struggle, has won Downtown Express, a weekly Manhattan newspaper, an award for political coverage from the New York Press Association. One of the judges said: “I was struck by [...]

Robert Odenweller ’59

Robert Odenweller ’59 was awarded the Royal Philatelic Society London Crawford Medal and the Royal Philatelic Society of New Zealand Collins Award for the book The Postage Stamps of New Zealand, 1855–1873—The Chalon Head Issues, in 2011. Uniquely, he was awarded both in 2005 for the book The Stamps and Postal History of Nineteenth Century [...]

William Lipshutz ’63

William Lipshutz ’63 has been named a Fellow of the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) in recognition of his outstanding professional achievements and contributions to the clinical and academic practice of gastroenterology. In 1978, Lipshutz founded Pennsylvania Hospital Gastrointestinal (PHGI) Associates, a group of leading physicians that provide expert gastrointestinal care in the Greater Philadelphia Area. [...]

Lauren Belfer ’75

Lauren Belfer ’75 has been recognized for a second time for her literary work with the inclusion of her latest novel, A Fierce Radiance, on The Washington Post Best Fiction List for 2010. A Fierce Radiance was also named an NPR Mystery of the Year. The novel is at once a thriller set in the [...]

Nick Tobier ’89

Nick Tobier ’89 recently received the Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty. It recognizes a faculty member’s social engagement and dedication to community service in his or her scholarship. A recently tenured professor at the University of Michigan, Tobier’s teaching integrates creativity and social conscience through direct engagement [...]

Sarah Harlow Shirk ’87

Sarah Harlow Shirk ’87 recently received the 2011 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring for her leadership of the Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Program at the University of Illinois-Chicago. The award recognizes the importance of mentoring in the academic and personal development of young women underrepresented in math, science, [...]

Bruce Lamb ’85

Bruce Lamb ’85 has received two awards for his efforts in fighting Alzheimer’s disease—the Alzheimer’s Association’s National Civic Award for bringing awareness to the disease and to the importance of research funding with the Alzheimer’s Breakthrough Ride, a cross-country bike ride which he conceived, and the Jennifer B. Langston Community Service Award from the Cleveland [...]