Search the Bulletin

Alumni Council Presents Candidates for Ratification

his spring, for the first time, new members of the Swarthmore Alumni Council will be approved as a slate rather than elected as individuals. As reported in the July 2008 Bulletin, the Council ratified the new selection method at its spring 2008 meeting. Last fall, the Council nominating committee reviewed candidates for 14 upcoming vacancies and chose a set of candidates and alternates. The final candidates agreed to serve 3-year terms, after which the slate was approved by the nominating committee and ratified by the full Council.

The Council now asks alumni to ratify this slate of candidates by Friday, May 22. Alumni may do this by either returning the postcard inserted on p. 47 of the magazine or by going online to This Web site has full profiles of each of the candidates on the slate. To complete the process online, alumni will need to log into the Swarthmore Online Community. Those who are not yet registered will need their Swarthmore ID number, located above their name on the mailing label of this magazine.

Alumni are also encouraged to suggest candidates for consideration on next year’s slate. In selecting new members, the nominating committee considers factors such as geographic location, class year, a demonstrated interest in the College through volunteer service, participation in College-sponsored activities, and a consistent record of giving as well as volunteer participation in other organizations. Alumni may nominate a candidate (including themselves) on the postcard, online, or at any time by e-mailing Nominations received by Oct. 1 of a given year will be considered for the following year’s slate.

—Lisa Lee ’81, Director of Alumni Relations

Zone A: Del., Pa.


Deborah Smith Dempsey ’57, Philadelphia, Pa. Department head, English (retired) Springside School


Joshua Farber ’02 Pittsburgh, Pa. Attorney Meyer Unkovic & Scott


Zone B: N.J., N.Y.


Danielle Moss Lee ’90 New York City President & CEO Harlem Educational Activities Fund


Steven Charles Kyle ’77 Lansing, N.Y. Professor of applied economics Cornell University


Zone C: Conn., Maine, Mass., N.H., R.I., Vt.


Nina Paynter ’97 Jamaica Plain, Mass. Instructor in medicine Brigham & Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School


Albert J. “Sandy” Williams III ’62 Woods Hole, Mass. Scientist emeritus Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution


Zone D: D.C., Md., Va.


Emily Aubrey ’89 Baltimore, Md. Self-employed childbirth instructor and freelance musician


Rohit Malhotra ’95 Charlottesville, Va. Physician University of Virginia Health Sciences Center


Zone E: Ill., Ind., Iowa, Kan., Mich., Minn., Mo., Neb., N.D., Ohio, Okla., S.D., Texas, W.Va., Wis.


Richard Wilson ’73 Green Bay, Wis. Accountant Episcopal Diocese of Fond du Lac



Lynda Yankaskas ’99 Richmond, Ind. Visiting assistant professor of history Earlham College


Zone F: Ala., Ark., Fla., Ga., Ky., La., Miss., N.C., S.C., Tenn., territories, dependencies, and international


Michael Fields ’69 Atlanta, Ga. News director Public Broadcasting of Atlanta/WABE-FM


Carol Church Holm-Hansen ’76 Vollen, Norway Senior scientist, Norwegian Institute of Public Health, Div. of Infectious Disease Control


Zone G: Alaska, Ariz., Calif., Colo., Hawaii, Idaho, Mont., Nev., N.M., Ore., Utah, Wash., Wyo.


Linda Bovard ’72 Eugene, Ore. President and consultant Bovard Consulting LLC


David Ko ’92 San Mateo, Calif. Dir. of special projects, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP

Comments are closed.